Board elects president and vice president for 2023-24 school year

The Jamesville-DeWitt Central School District Board of Education has new board officers for the 2023-24 school year. They were elected during the board’s re-organizational meeting on Monday, July 10. 

Board members elected Joe Gross to serve as board president and Sharon Archer as vice president. The positions are each one-year terms. 

Superintendent Peter Smith, District Clerk Brian Bartlett and three board members took the oath of office for their respective positions. In May, district residents elected David Babikian, John Baxter, and Joe Gross to the board. Each will serve a three-year term, which began July 1. 

The board of education is the school district’s official policy-making body. It’s comprised of nine school district residents who voters elect during an annual election, which is held the same day as the school district budget vote. Terms are staggered so that three members are elected each year. They are not compensated for their work as board members.

A Jamesville-DeWitt High School student also serves as a non-voting member of the board. The student may attend all public board meetings, participate in all public discussions and voice their opinions. In June, high school students elected rising-senior Rami Al-Mudamgha to the one-year position. Rami also took the oath of office at the July 10 meeting.

Board committees are still being decided. More information can be found on the board of education webpage.