Skip to main content
district home page calendar  lunch menus  myschoolbucks  schooltool  Tipline 
. . . . . .

July 12, 2021: Board elects president and vice president for 2021-22 school year

During the Jamesville-DeWitt Central School District Board of Education’s annual re-organizational meeting, board members elected their board officers for the 2021-22 school year.

During the meeting, which took place July 12 in person and was also livestreamed, board members elected Lori DeForest to serve as board president and Joe Gross as vice president. The positions are each one-year terms. 

Also during the meeting, Superintendent Peter Smith, District Clerk Timothy Decker and two board members, Lisa McKenney and Jalal Zoghby, took the oath of office for their respective positions. In May, district residents elected Kelly Austin, McKenney and Zoghby to their first terms of service. Each will serve a three-year term, which began July 1. Austin was not able to attend the meeting and will take the oath at a future board meeting.

The board of education is the school district’s official policy-making body. It is comprised of nine school district residents who voters elect during an annual election, which is held the same day as the school district budget vote. Terms are staggered so that three members are elected each year. They are not compensated for their work as board members.

In May, district residents approved a proposition for a Jamesville-DeWitt High School student to serve as a non-voting member of the board. The student may attend all public board meetings, participate in all public discussions and voice their opinions. In June, high school students elected rising-senior Grace Evans to the one-year position. Evans also took the oath of office at the July 12 meeting.

More information about the board of education may be found on the board section of the district website.



Dr. Peter Smith, Superintendent

P.O. Box 606
DeWitt, NY 13214

Phone: (315) 445-8300

Developed by CNYRIC